Kelly Vandever - Communications for Everyone

Adding Video to Your PowerPoint Presentations

In PowerPoint Slides on March 9, 2011 at 8:54 am

The Speaking Practically Blog Has Moved!

Find the old posts and new posts at

http://SpeakingPractically.com !

Adding Video to Your Presentation

I’ve been engaged in a few discussion groups on LinkedIn lately about PowerPoint presentations and someone asked the question “Have ever done a video for a client presentation?”   That got me to thinking about the few ways I’ve used video in client presentations.  I’ll share my experiences with you – I hope you share yours with me too!

The Target Market Testimony

One of my clients is a computer franchise organization whose target market is small businesses.  I reworked one of their standard presentations they give at chamber of commerce events and among other things, I removed the tech lingo from the content. As a way to illustrate why it was important to remove the jargon, I interviewed several small business owners and asked them the meaning of certain “IT words” out of context. For example, I asked the people, “When I say ‘user’ what does that mean to you?”  From an IT perspective, a “user” is someone who uses a computer system or software.  While one of those I interviewed said “computer users” the other answers I got included, things like someone who takes advantage of others, a drug user, a person who’s not a very nice.  The clip illustrated my point perfectly because the comments were unscripted and came from the mouths of people who are my client’s target audience.

How about you?  Could you include testimony from members of your client’s target market?  Or existing clients?  What would that add to a pitch to your prospects?

Your Product Matters

Late last year, I was doing a training session for The Home Depot on PowerPoint presentations.  One of the points I made in the session was the idea of including DIY (Do It Yourself) videos within your slides. To illustrate my point, I went around my house with a flip cam and recorded different projects that were built by my handyman husband using supplies from The Home Depot. It was short and fun clip for the most part.  But then I ended the video on a more serious note.  I showed the handrail my husband had build for my stepmom.  I explained that after her stroke last year, she needed the new handrail to assist her with getting in and out of our house. Ending on that story added an emotional element to the presentation and served as a reminder that what they do effects the lives of real people.  And we’re grateful.

How can you appreciate what your client does for their customers?  Can you add evidence that their product matters either from your personal experience or from the experience of their clients?

Humorous Video

I’ve taken clips with permission from Don McMillan who does a hilarious bit on PowerPoint.  I always include a link back to his website so he gets full credit (while I get the laughs).

Anytime we can add humor to a presentation, it’s a good thing.  Are there videos related to your topic or your clients industry that you could use without offending them?  (Always be sure to get permission before using someone else’s work – even if it is on YouTube.)

Sincere Flattery

While not a video and not my idea – I had a client who carried a digital camera with them when they went to meet with a new prospect.  They took a picture of the entrance of the building then transferred the photo into their slide show in the moments before the meeting. I thought that was a cleaver way to personalize the slides to the client.  And I think if I were the client, I would find it kind of flattering.

How might you personalize your presentation on the fly with video or pictures?

Now It’s Your Turn

Have you found any cleaver ways to add videos to presentations to your clients?  How did they work?  What were you trying to accomplish with the video?  Do tell in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

